Visvesvaraya PhD Scheme at IIITG

About the scheme

'Visvesvaraya PhD Scheme for Electronics & IT', with the approval of Cabinet Committee on Economic Affairs, was initiated in 2014 with an objective to enhance no. of PhDs in the country (Budget: Rs. 466 Cr).

PhD seats were allocated to 97 institutions (IITs, NITs, Central & State Universities etc.) in 25 states and 4 Union Territories. Now, 2nd phase of the scheme has been launched with budget of Rs. 481.93 Crs for 9 years targeting:

- 1000 Full Time PhD Candidates.
- 150 Part Time PhD Candidates.
- 50 awardees of Young Faculty Research Fellowship.
- 225 awardees of Post-Doctoral Fellowship.

More information can be found at: https://phd.digitalindiacorporation.in/

Under Visvesvaraya PhD Scheme, PhD seats were allocated to IIITG during both the first and second phases.

List of IIITG beneficiaries under Visvesvaraya PhD Scheme are:

First Phase:

Name of PhD student		Department	Mode
1.	Barnana Baruah	CSE	Full Time
2.	Richa Sarma	CSE	Full Time
3.	Anupam Pattanayak	CSE	Part Time
4.	Arup Baruah	CSE	Part Time
5.	Anakhi Hazarika	ECE	Full Time
6.	Sourav Bhowmick	ECE	Full Time

Second Phase:

Name of PhD student	Department	Mode
1. Simran Preet Kaur	CSE	Full-Time
2. Udit Kumar Rajbongsi	ECE	Full-Time