IIITG Administration


Prof.Gautam Barua

Professor (CSE)


Message from the Director

Mr. Uttam Ch. Das

1. Associate Dean Administration: Dr. Ferdous Ahmed Barbhuiya

    Handles all matters related to Faculty Affairs, Stores and Purchase, outsourcing of Services, Estate matters including new Constructions.

2. Associate Dean Research and Development: Dr. Rakesh Matam

    Handles all matters related to Research and Development activities, Consultancy & ICT Services.

3. Associate Dean Student Affairs: Dr. Suranjana Barua

    Handles all matters related to Student Affairs other than Academic, and Scholarships and Concessions.

4. Associate Dean Academic Undergraduate: Dr. Surajit Panja

    Handles all matters related to Under-Graduate (UG) Academic Programmes. To oversee all UG admissions, to assist the Registrar in preparation of the Agenda and Minutes of the Senate meetings.

5. Associate Dean Academic Postgraduate: Dr. Gautam Kalita

    Handles all matters related to M. Tech and PhD academic programmes.

6. Associate Dean External Relations: Dr. Bidisha Dasgupta

    Handles all matters related to interfacing with External agencies, MoUs with other Institutions, ranking, Accreditation, Alumni affairs.

       1. Mr. S. Ramadorai                                                   - Chairman
          Former Vice Chairman, TCS Ltd.

       2. Prof. T.G. Sitharam, Director, IIT Guwahati                        - Member

       3. Prof. Chitralekha Mahanta, Dean Academic Affairs, IIT Guwahati     - Member

       4. Prof. T. Punniyamurthy, Dean Faculty Affairs, IIT Guwahati         - Member

       5. Prof. Bhabesh Chandra Goswami                                      - Member
          Vice Chancellor, Cotton University, Guwahati

       6. Prof. Sivaji Bandyopadhyay					     - Member
          Director, NIT Silchar                                              

       7. Mr. Rakesh Ranjan, Additional Secretary,                           - Member
          Ministry of Education, Govt. of India

       8. Dr. Indrajit Bhattacharya, Tata Consultancy Services Ltd.          - Member

       9. Mr. Prasanta Borkakoty, RCE, Oil India Ltd.                        - Member

      10. Mr. Subrata Ghosh, SREI Infrastructre Finance Ltd.                 - Member

      11. Nominee of Govt. of Assam			                     - Member

      12. Prof. Gautam Barua, Director, IIIT Guwahati                        - Member Secretary

		(a) The Director of the Institute who shall be the ex officio Chairperson of the Senate;
		(b) All Deans, ex-officio (currently NIL);
		(c) Heads of all departments, faculties or schools, ex officio, as the case may be, of the Institute;
		(d) All full-time professors other than the Deans or heads of the Departments;
		(e) Three persons from amongst educationists of repute or persons from another field related to the activities 
		    of the Institute who are not in service of the Institute, nominated by the Board:
			1. Prof. Samarendra Dandapat, IIT Guwahati 
			2. Prof. Dhruba Kr Bhattacharyya, Tezpur University 
			3. Prof. Pranab Jyoti Das, Ex-Professor, Gauhati University 
		(f) Three persons who are not members of teaching staff co-opted by the Senate for their specialised knowledge. 
		(g) Registrar of the Institute, ex officio Secretary. 

		All faculty in the posts of Assistant Professor and above are special invitees to the Senate till the Institute 
		has a reasonable number of Professors.

       1. Mr. S. Ramadorai, Chairman BOG, (TCS), Ex-Officio.

       2. Mrs. Darshana Dabral, Member, Jt. Secretary, Finance Division, MHRD, Ex-officio.

       3. Mr. Subrata Ghosh, Member, Srei Infrastructure Finance Pvt. Ltd.

       4. Nominee of Govt of Assam.

       5. Mr. Prashant Agarwal, Special Invitee, Director IIITs, MHRD, Ex-Officio.

       6. Prof. Gautam Barua, Member, Director IIIT Guwahati, Ex-Officio.

       7. Mr. U.C. Das, Member Secretary, Registrar IIIT Guwahati, Ex-Officio.

       1. Prof. Gautam Barua, Chairman BWC

       2. Mr. Maninder Singh, Addl. Chief Secretary, Dept. of Higher Education, Govt. of Assam

       3. Mr. Kaushik Basu, Representative of TCS, Member

       4. Prof. Arvind Kr. Singh, Professor IIT Guwahati, Member (Nominee of MHRD)

       5. Prof. Anjan Dutta, Former Dean, IW, IIT Guwahati, Member

       6. Mr. G. C. Das, Advisor Design, APHC & Former S.E., PWD (Building), Member

       7. Dr. Ferdous A. Barbhuiya, Associate Dean (Administration), IIITG, Member

       8. Dr. P. Baruah, SE, IIITG, Secretary